Manhattan DWI Lawyers Russ Kofman and Arthur Lebedin Explain the Penalties for a DWI in New York

July 13, 2022 at 16:52

Manhattan DWI lawyers Russ Kofman and Arthur Lebedin release a new article (https://www.lebedinkofman.com/is-a-dwi-a-felony-in-new-york/) explaining the penalties for a DWI in New York. The lawyer mentions that the state of New York takes drunk driving offenses very seriously. The charges and penalties for DWI depend on many different variables.

“In New York, drunk driving charges will range from a misdemeanor to a felony depending on the amount of alcohol consumed, whether it is a first offense, and other factors. While a first drunk driving charge is usually considered a misdemeanor, this can quickly escalate into felony charges upon second and third convictions,” says the article from the Manhattan DWI lawyers.

Manhattan DWI lawyer

The lawyers say that in New York, there are a couple of categories of drunk driving charges. First, a DWAI or driving while alcohol-impaired charge, is driving while impaired by alcohol with a blood alcohol content or BAC of under the limit of 0.08 percent. For first-time DWAI convictions, the penalties can range from fines of $300 to $500, jail time of up to 15 days, and a 90-day suspension of license.

Attorney Russ Kofman adds that DWI convictions can go from a misdemeanor to a felony. A first DWI conviction with a greater than 0.08 percent up to a 0.18 percent BAC will be regarded as a misdemeanor with penalties of fines of between $500 and $1,000, a year in jail, and a minimum of one year of driver’s license suspension.

In the article, the lawyers mention that a second DWI conviction within ten years of the first will be considered a class E felony, subject to fines of between $1,000 and $5,000, up to four years in jail, or 30 days of community service, a minimum of one year driver’s license revocation, installation of an ignition interlock device.

According to attorney Arthur Lebedin, “A first-time aggravated DWI in New York is still a misdemeanor, but your license can be revoked for a minimum of one year. Second and third offenses will be considered felonies and your license can be revoked for a minimum of 18 months. A third offense committed within ten years of the others will put you at risk of losing your license permanently.”

Lastly, attorney Kofman emphasizes the importance of having a skilled lawyer when facing charges of DWI. An experienced lawyer may be able to help the defendant understand their rights and protect their freedom.

About Lebedin Kofman LLP

Russ Kofman and Arthur Lebedin are seasoned, aggressive litigators handling cases in both the state and federal courts. Together, they manage the Lebedin Kofman Law firm. They handle civil rights cases as well as family law, high-net-worth divorce, and highly contested custody cases. Attorney Kofman and attorney Lebedin believe in their clients and work hard to fight for their rights and help them receive the best possible outcome for each of their cases. Call today to speak with an experienced attorney: (646) 663-4430.

Lebedin Kofman LLP

26 Broadway 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004, United States

(646) 663-4430

###

For more information about Lebedin Kofman LLP, contact the company here:

Lebedin Kofman LLP
Arthur Lebedin
(646) 663-4430
info@lebedinkofman.com
Lebedin Kofman LLP
26 Broadway 3rd floor, New York, NY 10004, United States

FacebookTwitterGoogleDiggRedditLinkedIn